Agboyi-Ketu LCDA Chairman Inaugurates Legislative Arm

By Oyewale Oyelola


The Executive Chairman, Agboyi-Ketu LCDA, Mayor Dele Oshinowo on Wednesday inaugurated the 4th legislature of the council.


Mayor Oshinowo in his proclamation said his action was in accordance with Lagos State Local Government Act that empowers council chairman to inaugurate legislative arm to ensure checks and balances in conformity with the doctrine of separation of powers.


The legislative arm which is the law-making body of the council comprises seven councilors each from seven wards in Agboyi Ketu LCDA.


The chairman in his address charged councillors to work in tandem with the vision of his administration, appealing to them to see their legislative power as a means of bringing succour to the affected areas of governance.


“We will something have different views on policy issues, which is normal in democratic setting. I promise to run open door policy to everyone ventilates their views in order to bring meaningful development to our LCDA”. He added.

Seven councilors from seven wards in Agboyi Ketu LCDA are being inaugurated

After the proclamation by the chairman, the elected councillors took their oaths of office, which was administered by the Legal Officer of the Council, Mrs Priscilla Lawrence.


Thereafter, the clerk of the house led the councillors to legislative chamber where the councillor representing Ward D, Hon. Tajudeen Akinyemi was unanimously elected as the Leader of the House.


Other principal officers elected are Deputy Leader, Hon. Stephen Omotayo , Majority Leader, Hon. Adeleke Adewusi, Chief Whip, Hon. Musiliu Sulaimon and Deputy Chief Whip, Hon. Oluseyi Festus.


Our correspondent reports that the house leader, Hon Tajudeen Akinyemi became emotional after his election and quickly rushed to prostrate before the Lagos APC Deputy Chairman (East), Chief Sunday Oyedele for his support.


Dignitaries at the inauguration include; Lagos APC Deputy Chairman, Chief Sunday Oyedele, Pioneer Chairman of the council, Chief Yetunde Arobieke, Hon Aigbe, traditional rulers in the council among others.


About Time Nigeria

Abdul Rahman Aliagan is an Abuja-based seasoned Journalist who has spanned over a decade in the profession. My flare for Investigation has earned me a niche and more on the profession. Presently, I am the National Publicity Secretary, Guide of Investigative Journalists, an umbrella body for the curious journalists in Nigeria. I am a student of History from the Better By Far University, University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria, I was born in late 70s. I started my Journalistic career with The Herald Newspaper, in 1997 and moved my career to Funtua, Katsina State as a Media Assistant to a Non-Governmental Organization, Pan-African Development Education and Advocacy Programme (PADEAP) where I later joined the service of Newspeg Newspaper as a Senior Correspondent and became the pioneer Editor as it transformed to Magazine. However, close to two decades uninterrupted experiences gave birth to Time Nigeria Magazine that is setting Economic and political pace for the most populated country in African continent, Nigeria.


Leave a Reply